Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Endangered Species: The “Power Couple” with Children

Vidhya Ravi
5 min readMay 10, 2018

--

It’s been over fourteen years since I entered the workforce and here I am with a marriage, two children, and a household to manage. Yes, I am lucky to have a great husband and devoted father as my partner, but I’ve noticed there are fewer and fewer women like me at work; what’s worse, the ones that I think are more like me are disappearing.

The “power couple” with children: are we an endangered species?

Think I’m imagining this? Just look at my history of female bosses and leaders since 2002 (leaving a few out for privacy):

1: Lovely woman, early 40s, never married, and available for work 24/7 unless she was on a cruise vacation.

2: Also a lovely woman, late 30’s, USC MBA, sister of a well-known celebrity, totally single, and available for work 24/7 when not needing to be available to support celebrity sister.

3: Mid 20’s, got married 2 months after I stopped working for her, available for work 24/7 (she had traveled to South Africa 4 times just for work within one year). I heard that a few years after marriage she wasn’t working anymore… and had left heavy travel job she had.

4: Sweetest woman ever — and maybe the only one closest to my situation. Had just come back from maternity…

--

--